IFSCA has published a comprehensive framework governing capital relief and prudential requirements for factoring transactions in the International Financial Services Centre. The circular, issued July 21, 2026 (IFSCA/LEGAL/913), immediately takes effect and rewrites how factors calculate risk weights, recognize NPAs, and claim credit protection benefits in the IFSC.
What Changed: The 30-Second Answer
On July 21, 2026, IFSCA issued Circular IFSCA/LEGAL/913 permitting Finance Companies and Finance Units in the IFSC to claim capital relief on factored receivables when credit protection is obtained from eligible institutions (sovereigns, export credit agencies, banks, MDBs, insurers, and other prudentially regulated entities). The covered portion of a factoring exposure receives the risk weight of the protection provider; the uncovered portion receives the importer’s risk weight. Receivables unpaid beyond 90 days (or 180 days for companies under USD 150 million in assets) must be classified as NPAs. The framework applies immediately.
Who This Applies To
The IFSCA Circular 2026 targets all Finance Companies and Finance Units registered under the IFSCA (Finance Company) Regulations, 2021 that undertake factoring business in the IFSC. This includes factors operating through the ITFS platform and those acting independently. Finance Units are subject to an additional condition: their parent entity must provide an undertaking at registration confirming that the home regulator recognizes capital relief for credit risk mitigation.
The framework does not specify whether domestic-only factors outside the IFSC are in scope—IFSCA’s remit is confined to IFSC-registered entities.
Capital Relief: How Risk Weights Now Work
The centerpiece of the circular is the capital relief mechanism. When a Finance Company obtains credit protection (insurance or guarantee) for a factoring transaction from an eligible institution, it achieves two-tier risk weighting:
- Covered portion: Assigned the risk weight of the protection provider (e.g., an export credit agency or multilateral development bank).
- Uncovered portion: Assigned the risk weight of the importer (the underlying counterparty in the factoring transaction).
This is critical for capital adequacy. A factor obtaining credit insurance from an MDB on a USD 10 million export receivable can treat (say) USD 8 million at the MDB’s risk weight and USD 2 million at the importer’s risk weight—lowering overall capital requirement versus full importer weighting.
For two-factor model factoring (common under institutions like FCI), the import factor’s guarantee automatically covers the export factor’s exposure to the importer. The covered portion takes the import factor’s risk weight; any uncovered portion takes the importer’s weight. Risk weights are assigned per Basel Committee on Banking Supervision’s Calculation of RWA for Credit Risk (CRE20).
Eligible Protection Providers
The circular lists eligible institutions whose protection unlocks capital relief. They are:
- Sovereign entities.
- Export Credit Agencies.
- Public Sector Enterprises (PSEs).
- Multilateral Development Banks (MDBs).
- Banks.
- Securities firms.
- Other prudentially regulated financial institutions, including insurance companies and IFSC Insurance Offices, and institutions acting as import factors.
An eligible institution must be supervised by a regulator imposing prudential requirements consistent with international norms, or be part of a consolidated group where a substantial legal entity meets that criterion.
Qualifying Conditions for Credit Protection Contracts
Not every guarantee or insurance policy unlocks capital relief. The credit protection contract must satisfy eight specific requirements:
- It must represent a direct claim on the protection provider.
- It must be explicitly referenced to specific exposures or pools so the extent of cover is clearly defined and cannot be disputed.
- It must be irrevocable, except for non-payment of fees or premiums by the Finance Company.
- It must not contain a unilateral cancellation clause allowing the protection provider to cancel, change maturity, or increase effective cost due to deteriorating credit quality.
- It must not impose conditions outside the Finance Company’s direct control that could prevent the protection provider from paying in the event of default.
- It must be an explicitly documented obligation of the protection provider.
- In cases of pari passu loss sharing, capital relief is granted only on the proportional covered portion; the remainder is treated as unsecured.
- The Finance Company must have the right to receive payments without first pursuing legal action against the counterparty. The protection provider may pay in a lump sum or assume the counterparty’s future payment obligations.
These conditions tighten the contract architecture. A guarantee with an embedded cancellation clause tied to the importer’s credit deterioration would not qualify.
Exposure Ceiling and Reckoning Rules
All factoring transactions fall within the overall exposure ceiling set by IFSCA’s May 25, 2021 circular on “Framework on Computation of Exposure Ceiling for Finance Companies/Finance Units” (F. No 172/IFSCA/Finance Company/Unit Regulations/2021-22/6). How you reckon the exposure depends on the factoring structure:
- With-recourse factoring: Exposure reckoned on the assignor (seller of the receivable).
- Without-recourse factoring: Exposure reckoned on the debtor (buyer of goods/services), irrespective of credit cover, except where the import factor assumes the entire credit risk.
- Two-factor model (FCI-style): Exposure reckoned on the import factor to the extent of coverage.
- Trade credit insurance-protected exposure: Uncovered portion reckoned on the underlying debtor; covered portion reckoned on the protection provider.
This matters for concentration risk and single-counterparty exposure limits. A without-recourse factor must still track debtor exposure; capital relief doesn’t eliminate exposure reckoning.
NPA Recognition: 90 Days for Most, 180 Days for Smaller Entities
A receivable acquired under factoring that remains unpaid more than 90 days past its due date shall be classified as a Non-Performing Asset (NPA), irrespective of the acquisition date or whether the factoring is on recourse or non-recourse basis.
However, two important carve-outs apply:
- Finance Companies with asset size less than USD 150 million (measured at end of prior financial year) may classify as NPA only if unpaid beyond 180 days.
- Finance Units with asset size less than USD 150 million use the lower of (i) their home country regulator’s NPA classification period, or (ii) 180 days.
The exposure on which NPA is booked must be the entity where the exposure was originally recorded (assignor for with-recourse, debtor for without-recourse, etc.). Provisioning follows the May 3, 2021 circular on “Prudential Regulations and activity specific Guidelines” (F. No 172/IFSCA/Finance Company/Unit Regulations/2021-22/3).
Board-Approved Limits for Without-Recourse Underwriting
Finance Companies and Units undertaking without-recourse factoring (where they underwrite credit risk on the debtor) must have a clearly laid down Board-approved limit for all such underwriting commitments. This is a governance requirement; the circular does not specify a percentage or formula—that is a Board decision—but the limit must be documented and approved.
The Algoy Perspective
The most implementation challenge most factors will face isn’t the risk weighting; it’s the exposure reckoning contradiction in without-recourse structures. The circular states that in without-recourse factoring, exposure is reckoned on the debtor “irrespective of the credit risk cover/protection provided, except in those cases where the entire credit risk is assumed by import factor.”
This creates a trap. A factor buying a debtor invoice without recourse will claim it has zero credit risk on the debtor (because the importer defaults, the factor eats the loss). Yet exposure reckoning still maps the transaction to the debtor for concentration limits. Operationally, this means: capital relief yes; exposure ceiling relief no. Many teams will misinterpret this as full derisking and violate single-counterparty exposure limits within months of implementation.
Second, the 90-day NPA clock starts the moment a receivable is unpaid past its due date, regardless of factoring model. If a factor buys a 60-day invoice and the importer misses day 91, it’s NPA. The circular is silent on any grace period for disputes or logistics delays. Teams must build automated alerts at day 85.
Why AI-driven liquidity forecasting matters here: factors holding a diversified portfolio of short-term receivables face rapid NPA churn in a downturn. AI-driven liquidity forecasting moving beyond spreadsheets in global transaction banking can model which portfolio segments are most vulnerable to 90-day slippage and trigger dynamic hedging or reserve adjustments before losses crystallize.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a factor obtain capital relief if it buys receivables without recourse but carries the credit risk itself?
Yes, but only if it obtained credit protection from an eligible institution. Per para 4.1(a)(ii), the uncovered portion receives the importer’s risk weight. If a factor undertakes without-recourse factoring but chooses not to insure the credit risk, it carries the full importer risk weight on that exposure and does not benefit from capital relief.
What happens if an import factor provides a guarantee under the two-factor model but the agreement doesn’t meet the eight qualifying conditions in para 4.1(c)?
The export factor cannot claim capital relief on the covered portion. The entire export factor-to-importer exposure would receive the importer’s risk weight, negating the benefit of the import factor’s involvement. The circular explicitly states the guarantee “must satisfy the following requirements in order to enable the Finance Company or Finance Unit to claim the capital relief.”
If a Finance Unit’s home regulator does not recognize capital relief for factoring, can it still register with IFSCA?
Per para 4.2, the Finance Unit’s parent must submit an undertaking confirming its home regulator recognizes capital relief. If it does not, IFSCA may not approve registration, or the Unit would operate without capital relief access. The circular is silent on whether IFSCA would reject a registration application on this ground alone; that would depend on IFSCA’s enforcement stance.
Does a Finance Company smaller than USD 150 million in assets avoid the 90-day NPA rule entirely?
No. Per para 8, smaller companies (asset size under USD 150 million at end of prior financial year) apply a 180-day rule instead. This is a relief, not an exemption. After 180 days unpaid, the receivable must be classified NPA and provisioned.
Sources and Further Reading
- IFSCA Circular on capital relief and prudential requirements for factoring transactions, July 21, 2026
- IFSCA official website
- Search and track this circular on RegChat, Algoy’s regulatory chatbot
Track every new RBI, SEBI and IFSCA circular and ask questions in plain English on RegChat — Algoy’s free regulatory chatbot.












[…] acquired under factoring must be reported under ‘Bills purchased and Discounted’. This aligns with broader regulatory pushes to standardise how such instruments are treated across fi…. Importantly, rights, licenses, authorisations, etc., charged as collateral are not reckoned as […]